Meet the team: Natalie, our rehoming manager

Cats Protection Brighton & District was set up less than a year ago and is run by a group of cat-mad volunteers.

We thought you might like to know who these volunteers are, so we’re running a series of profiles about each and every one of them. Here’s our third profile…

Meet Natalie

Natalie, CP Brighton Rehoming ManagerWhat is your volunteering role, and the best thing about it?
I am the Rehoming Manager which basically means that I carry out home visits to ascertain people’s suitability to adopt a cat, match the right cat with the right owner, then carry out the adoption process so that the cat goes to his or her forever home. I have also become involved with helping the fosterers now that we actually have three, and they all currently have cats so I like to go and visit! I have carried out many home visits for other branches, but the best thing was when I rehomed Brighton’s first foster cat, Luna (aka Britney). She went to an amazing home and I still get texts from her new owners, like the one I got yesterday that said “thank you for her little furry face”! I’ve also made some really great friends in the other branch volunteers.

What is your job outside Cats Protection?
I work for the Home Office in central London – the job is ok and the people are great but the commuting can be a pain, especially as the trains are constantly being delayed.

Do you have any cats?
Yes, two – both from Cats Protection – Orinoco, 13 and Tatiana, almost two. I have had Orinoco since he was one, and I got Tatiana in July last year when I went to the NCAC for training as part of my volunteering role – I didn’t intend to get another cat but I couldn’t resist – she chose me!

Tatiana, Natalie's catOrinoco, Natalie's cat

The moment you knew you were a cat person…
The moment I was born! Both of my parents were cat mad and I inherited their passion from the word go. I always had cats growing up and, as an only child, they were part of the family to me. I could not live without cats, they are everything to me.

What would you do if you were a cat for an hour?
I would eat some sardines then stretch out in the sun, purring.

Two interesting non-cat related facts about yourself?
I have given up smoking for one year and I am a Piscean.

Another volunteer profile will be up next week! Find out more about Cats Protection Brighton & District and how you can help us.

Leave a Reply

